Sewage System Classifications

All sewage systems shall be classed as one of the following sewage system classes:

  • Class 1 – A chemical toilet, an incinerating toilet, a recirculating toilet, a self-contained portable toilet and all forms of privy including a portable privy, an earth pit privy, a pail privy, a privy vault and a composting toilet system.
  • Class 2 – A class 2 sewage system can only be used for the treatment and disposal of greywater (non- human body waste) i.e., kitchen sink wastes, bathtubs, washing machines, etc.
  • This type of system is ONLY adequate to treat small amounts of greywater (less than 1000 litres per day) for premises such as cottages and hunt camps, etc.
  • Class 3 – A cesspool used with composting toilets, including the Separett toilets.
  • Class 4 – The most common type of sewage system, which is used to service single-family dwellings, multiple units, and commercial premises is Class 4. It is typically composed of a two-compartment septic tank and a leaching bed. The septic tank collects the raw sewage and helps in settling and digestion.
  • Class 5 – a system which requires or uses a holding tank for the retention of hauled sewage at the site where it is produced prior to its collection by a hauled sewage system.

Clearance Distances for 1, 2 and 3 Sewage System Classes

Minimum horizontal distance in metres: From a well with watertight casing to a depth of at least 6m From a spring used as a source of potable water or well other than a watertight casing to a depth of at least 6m From a lake, river, pond, stream, reservoir, or a spring not used as a source of potable water From a property line
Earth Pit Privy 15m 30m 15m 3m
Privy Vault Pail Privy 10m 15m 10m 3m
Grey, Water System 10m 15m 15m 3m
Cesspool 30m 60m 15m 3m